2018 Wenzao International Conference on Southeast Asian Studies

 Wenzao ICSEAS 2018: Oct. 25-27, 2018

Call for Paper
Conference Theme – Southeast Asia: Transition and Transformation

For more information, please visit: Call for Paper_2018 Wenzao ICSEAS

Building on the success of the “2017 Wenzao International Conference on Southeast Asia Studies” (2017 Wenzao ICSEAS) with conference theme: Beyond Borders and Boundaries and a forthcoming edited book volume entitled Southeast Asia: Beyond Borders and Boundaries (10 chapters/publication date: June 2018), Wenzao Ursuline University of Languages continues to host the second Wenzao ICSEAS (2018 Wenzao ICSEAS).

The 2018 Conference theme will be “Southeast Asia: Transition and Transformation”. The organizers encourage submissions of panel proposals or individual presentations on the following ten sub-themes:

  1. ASEAN as a community: Challenges and Prospects
  2. ASEAN Economies: Challenges and Prospects
  3. Southeast Asian Histories and Social Change
  4. Environment Sustainability
  5. Democratization and Its Discontent
  6. Literature, Film, Media, the Arts and Cultural Studies
  7. Language and Linguistics
  8. People-to-people Connectivity: The Roles of NGOs
  9. Taiwan and Southeast Asia
  10. Health and Migration Policy

Abstract submission deadline: May 15, 2018
Notification of accepted papers: May 31, 2018
Official registration period: June 1- July 15, 2018
Deadline for full paper submissions: September 15, 2018
Conference Dates: October 25-27, 2018
Conference Venue: Wenzao Ursuline University (WZU), Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Organizer: Center for Southeast Asian Language Teaching (CSALT), WZU Panel Proposals and other conference inquiries should be submitted to:
CSALT Coordinator Mr. Kai Otto Chang: sl00@mail.wzu.edu.tw

Civil Society in Asia: International Conference, Melbourne 2017

Civil Society in Asia: International Conference in Melbourne
February 2017

For more information, please visit the conference site: http://arts.unimelb.edu.au/asiainstitute/research/civil-society-in-asia

Conference Programme



Name Affiliation
Akihiro Ogawa The University of Melbourne
Jeff Kingston Temple University, Japan Campus


Name Affiliation
Simon Avenell Australian National University
Yooil Bae Singapore Management University
Anthony J. Spires The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Bumochir Dulam University College London
Jörg Wischermann German Institute of Global and Area Studies
Dang Thi Viet Phuong Vietnam Academy of Social Sciences
Gaik Cheng Khoo The University of Nottingham, Malaysia
Gillian Koh National University of Singapore
Vedi Hadiz The University of Melbourne
Gretchen Kunze Institute for Political and Civic Engagement, Myanmar
World Learning
Bencharat Sae Chua Mahidol University
Stephen McCarthy Griffith University
Pradeep Taneja The University of Melbourne
Salim Kassim-Lakha The University of Melbourne
Nadeem Malik The University of Melbourne
Mukta Tamang Tribhuvan University
Michiyo Kiwako Okuma-Nyström Independent Scholar
Udan Fernando Centre for Poverty Analysis
Apichai Shipper Georgetown University
Ruth Phillips The University of Sydney
Allison Alexy University of Michigan
Gwyn McClelland Monash University
Claudia Astarita The University of Melbourne
Masayuki Deguchi National Museum of Ethnology, Japan
Satoshi Miyazaki Waseda University
Jennifer Chan The University of British Columbia
Claire Maree The University of Melbourne
Ian Rowen Academia Sinica, Institute of Ethnology and French Centre for Research on Contemporary China (CEFC)
Daniel Kremers German Institute for Japanese Studies
Stefan Rother University of Freiburg
Nobuyo Goto Institute of Basic Economic Science and Fukushima Medical University


Name Affiliation
Yasuo Goto Fukushima University and Fukushima Nuclear Disaster Information Center
Alexander Bukh Victoria University of Wellington
Gerald Roche The University of Melbourne
Anthony D’Costa The University of Melbourne
Mark Bryan Manantan Australian National University
Hiroko Aihara Abe Fellow Journalist
Kenneth Nyström
Yuko Shibata The University of Melbourne
David Palmer The University of Melbourne
Brigitte Tenni The University of Melbourne
Stacey Steele The University of Melbourne
Jane Munro The University of Melbourne
Jun Ohashi The University of Melbourne
Maila Stivens The University of Melbourne
Ikuko Nakane The University of Melbourne
Tania Miletic  The University of Melbourne
Maki Yoshida The University of Melbourne (Doctoral Student)
Akina Mikami The University of Melbourne (Doctoral Student)
Edward Charles Hyatt The University of Melbourne (Docroral Student)
Stefan Fuchs The University of Melbourne (Doctoral Student)
Sonja Petrovic The University of Melbourne (Doctoral Student)
Ashely Ross The University of Melbourne (Doctoral Student)
Adam Eldridge The University of Melbourne (Doctoral Student)
Theodorus Radja Ludji Monash University (Master’s Student)


We appreciate generous support from Japan Foundation as well as The University of Melbourne Faculty of Arts and Asia Institute.